Mini Seven Racing Club Round 2

The second rounds of the Mini Seven Racing Club's 2022 championship had a relatively late change of venue, with the planned visit to Croft being ruled out after the event was reduced to a single day meeting. The BRSCC very helpfuly accommodated the four races in their Easter Snetterton meeting. Although initially a compromise had to be made with a mixed qualifying session scheduled, even that was changed at very short notice to separate sessions, to accomodate the very healthy entries.


Full results - Mini Seven and S Class


Full results - Mini Miglia and Libre


Race coverage - Mini 7 Race 1


Race coverage - Mini 7 Race 2


Race coverage - Mini Miglia Race 1


Race coverage - Mini Miglia Race 2


Despite a few regular contenders being missing in the Miglia and Libre classes, and three drivers sadly having to drop out after problems in testing on Friday, there was a 19 car turnout for the Miglias/Libres, and a very healthy 31 for the Sevens and S-Class, all ready to enjoy an unseasonably warm and sunny Easter weekend.


The Mini Sevens had an interrupted qualifying, due to the need to rescue Jordan Sims' car at the Bombhole, and clear up an oil slick, but the session was restarted, enabling Mike Jordan to pip Spencer Wanstall's re-shelled car to pole, while Michael Winkworth continued his S-Class domination by qualifying sixth overall, not too far ahead of Frazer Hack.


The first race provided a close battle between Connor O'Brien and Mike Jordan, with places changing on virtually every lap. Joe Thompson also joined in the battle but over the last couple of laps Mike held the advantage to fend off Connor and Joe for the win. Michael Winkworth had a worrying moment when his car died at the start, and in the ensuing chaos as the S Class runners tried to avoid him, Jonathan Page came off worst. Michael worked his way back into the S Class lead by the end of lap four though, taking the win from Frazer Hack and Damien Harrington.


With the top 8 reversed on Sunday's grid (actually the top 7 in the S Class, for reasons nobody ever did work out!) Graeme Davis started from pole, but Connor O'Brien pulled off a brilliant start to take the lead into the Esses on the first lap, and he then ran away and hid from the battle behind, in which Joe Thompson eventually beat Mike Jordan, while Glen Woodbridge completed a good weekend with his second fourth place, ahead of Spencer Wanstall. Michael Winkworth again made short work of the S-Class traffic to hit the front within a lap, and he went on to win again from Frazer Hack, with Matt Ayres having a strong finish to move up to third place.


Miglia qualifying saw Kane Astin, Jeff Smith, Aaron Smith and Rupert Deeth covered by less than half a second, with Kane taking pole after his car had received some of Endaf Owens' magic in the aftermath of the unfortunate Silverstone incident.


We then saw two absolutely classic Mini Miglia races; Kane, Jeff, Aaron and Rupert swapped places all the way through Saturday's race, with Ben Colburn and Ashley Davies making it a six car fight at the front. Rupert was the one who put himself in the right place at the right time on the last lap to snatch the win from Aaron, Jeff, Kane, Ben and Ashley.


Although the reversed grid put Rob Howard and Colin Peacock on Sunday's front row, a five-abreast approach to the first corner shook up the order with Jeff Smith and Kane Astin already leading the pack as they entered the infield complex. Ben Colburn unfortunately dropped out of the lead battle when he had to take to the grass at the bombhole on the third lap, but Lewis Selby, having his best run so far in his NAPA-liveried car, moved up to join the lead group. The official scoring shows that Kane and Aaron did most of the swapping of the lead this time, but this misses the fact that Jeff frequently had his nose in front, just ever over the finish line! Aaron somehow contrived to put himself fractionally out of range of a last lap challenge, coming home the winner from Jeff, Kane, Rupert Ashley and Lewis - Miglia racing at its best! Richard Colburn found himself the last man standing in the Libre class after various mechanical mishaps, and took two unchallenged wins.


Off track highlights included an excellent pig roast on Saturday night, laid on for club members by Norwich based Miglia racer Tony Le May, raising funds for The Lily Foundation.


The rest of the BRSCC meeting was dominated by races for the various well supported Mazda MX5 championships. Saturday also featured a couple of races for a small selection of sports prototypes in the Zeo Prototype Series and finished with a 45 minute race for the BRSCC Clubsport Trophy, which featured a wide variety of cars and a race-long battle for the lead. Sunday's Mini action was all completed before lunch as the afternoon was devoted to a five hour race in the Silverlake C1 Endurance Championship, with a 57-car grid that was the biggest ever seen at Snetterton.