Welcome to the re-launch of Autograss Review's online magazine - or rather magazines as, to acknowledge the fact that we're increasingly covering more than just NASA Autograss, we intend to split our content between two titles, Autograss Review and the new Grass Roots Racer.

We're still hoping to re-launch the printed magazine at some stage in the future - so thanks to our loyal subscribers and advertisers in waiting for this to happen. But as our current workload means that this won't be in the near future, we'll concentrate for a while on bringing our online coverage up to date.

As "news" stories tend to appear very quickly these days on social media, and then disappear just as quickly, we'll be concentrating on coverage of individual race meetings, and we'll continue to give priority to the smaller club events that other media usually overlook. Our photo galleries from events we attend will be combined with more detailed reports and reviews - click on the photos below for full coverage from each event. We'll be aiming to clear the backlog from the 2015 season as quickly as possible, so please bear with us.

Initially it will be just our own coverage, but if any other budding reporters and photographers are interested in contributing content from your own local clubs or promotions, we'd be interested to hear from you.


Latest News

 .... UPDATED SUNDAY 11 JUNE 2017

Please always "refresh" to see the latest version of this page

Apologies for the lack of updates over the past month - yet again pressure of work has been resulting in all our time disappearing between race weekends. But we'll do our best ....

COMING UP ..... JUNE 17/18 .... As a contrast to the fifteen Autograss meetings scheduled last weekend, this week there are only three; the BAS round hosted by South Wales League at Red Roses, round two of the UKAC staged by the Gloucestershire League on Bredon Hill's Hilltop Raceway, Tirley, and a one day meeting for Leewood at Castle Hill Farm, Ashley. The Rolling Thunder Show's proposed "away weekend" at Swaffham Raceway in Norfolk has unfortunately been cancelled, although Swaffham will be running their own two-day event in its place. Angmering's Sunday meeting is Banger-orientated this time with a "World Final" for 1400cc Micro Bangers although all Hot Rod classes will also be on the programme.  The Ballymurn club in Wexford provides Irish Hot Rod action.

JUNE 24/25 .... It's a big day for Hot Rod racers in Ireland with meetings this Sunday on tarmac and dirt. Waterford Raceway have round 6 of the Driver of the Year Championship at the Pike, while Ballyshannon Hot Rod Club in Kildare celebrates its 30th birthday with a "make or break" event which we hope will see the club recover from some disappointing recent turnouts. Both unfortunately clash with West Waterford Autograss and Coolronan Raceway also has a meeting. There's a unique double event at Scarborough; on Saturday the Outlaw Stock Cars take over the Hunmanby Raceway for a full programme of open-wheel Stock Car action, supported by dirt Hot Rods. Scarborough Autograss then resume control of the track on Sunday for their Junior Challenge meeting. The other major British Autograss event is at Sturton & Stow, with the British F600 Championship visiting the Caenby Corner track. There are also meetings at Invicta, Penhow, Pennine and Spalding.

 

LOOKING BACK ..... Please check the links below for our report and photo galleries of the very special season opener at the Waterford Raceway on 19 February, followed by the championship events on 12 March, 23 April and 5 June.

Other links below will take you to our coverage of the All Ireland Autograss meetings at CARLOW and CAUSEWAY, the INVICTA KENT Autograss opener, the BAS opener at MALLOW, Autograss at PENHOW, SEGTO Championship racing at TONGHAM, SEGTO and open Hot Rod events at the OVAL RACEWAY ANGMERING, SEGTO and Rolling Thunder Show racing at ARENA-ESSEX, the New Year Sprint at Watergrasshill, Autosport International, the Oval Racing Expo and the first two meetings of the year at Standlake Arena.

2017 season news archive .....

Photo galleries

NASA official site

NASA fixture list

SEGTO official site

Rolling Thunder Show

Standlake Arena

Waterford Raceway

What is Autograss?

Autograss Forum

About us

Subscriptions

Advertising

Latest issue

Back issues

Links

How to go racing

NASA club contacts



DONAL O'BRIEN

We were shocked to hear of the tragic death of Donal O'Brien on Sunday 14 May, following a cycling accident. Just two weeks earlier Donal had played a major part in the team that delivered probably Ireland's biggest ever motorsport event at Mallow and the previous weekend he'd been catching up again with all his Autograss friends at Carlow, while daughter Nicole raced her Class 8. Donal was already a successful rally driver when he entered Autograss in the early 2000s, establishing himself as a top Class 8 driver before switching later to Class 7. Donal raced with Cork club before being part of the group that successfully established the new club at Mallow. He was one of the first Irish drivers to travel regularly to all the major UK meetings and became a firm favourite with fellow racers and supporters on both sides of the water. More recently Donal returned to Rallying with every Irish driver's dream car, a 2.5 Millington-powered Mk2 Escort, but he, together with Sandra and Nicole, remained committed to helping his club and other members in the Autograss scene. Donal was also one of the key organisers of the annual New Year "Fun Sprint" event at Watergrasshill, which brings together drivers from all Irish motorsport disciplines. Manning the entrance gate at the crack of dawn at Watergrasshill, Donal was the first person to greet us at the start of each new motorsport season. The last time we saw him behind the wheel was this year at Watergrasshill; impressed with the amazing speed of the Autocross Buggies, Donal typically couldn't close the track until he'd had a go in one! This is just one of the many events that will never seem the same again in Donal's absence. Our sincere condolences to Sandra, Nicole and all Donal's many, many friends in both Ireland and the UK.

PLEASE CLICK ON THE PICTURES BELOW FOR FULL EVENT COVERAGE
2017-20
2017-19
2017-18
2017-17
2017-15
16 APRIL 2017 - SEGTO ROUND 2 AT ANGMERING
- coverage will be posted soon!
9 APRIL 2017 - INVICTA AUTOGRASS
- coverage will be posted soon!
8 APRIL 2017 - SEGTO ROUND 1 AT ARENA -ESSEX
- coverage will be posted soon!

COMING SOON (sorry for the delay):
The 12th annual Oval Racing Expo

FULL REPORTS, RESULTS AND PHOTO GALLERIES


TRAGIC END TO 2016

We received the worst possible news just after Christmas when an accident during a Ladies' race at the St Stephen's Day meeting at the Waterford Raceway claimed the life of the club's devoted and universally loved secretary, Mairead D'Arcy.

Mairead was rightly regarded as the heart and soul of the Waterford Raceway (better known to Irish racers as "The Pike") and her personality and dedication to her local racers played a major part in making The Pike such a special and enjoyable place to go racing. When we paid an unannounced visit to The Pike in the summer we experienced at first hand how Mairead's smiling, welcoming and helpful presence made such a difference to every racer's and visitor's day at this historic track.

Having been brought up in a family who had all made a massive contribution over the years to the Waterford Raceway, Mairead loved her racing and was known for her ability to get into a great variety of cars and get the best out of them, whether in ladies' races or competing against the men. In November she'd raced for the first time at the Tipperary Raceway (Rosegreen) and came away a winner.

However, it's not just the racing world that will feel Mairead's loss. As a devoted early years teacher, she'd recently realised a dream with the very successful opening of her own school, "Maud's Little Learners" in her home village of Stradbally, Co Waterford.

To the D'Arcy family, the racers and supporters at Waterford Raceway, to everyone on the Irish racing scene who'd been touched by Mairead's influence, and to all in her local community, we offer our heartfelt condolences.

RIP Mairead

 


2016 season news archive .....
27 DECEMBER 2016 - TRENT CHRISTMAS PUDDING MEETING
- coverage will be posted soon!
11 DECEMBER 2016 - OVAL RACE CLUB AT ANGMERING
- coverage will be posted soon!
4 DECEMBER 2016 - STANDLAKE ARENA WESTCOUNTRY VIDEOS MEETING
- coverage will be posted soon!
20 NOVEMBER 2016 - STANDLAKE ARENA
- coverage will be posted soon!
13 NOVEMBER 2016 - ROLLING THUNDER SHOW AT ARENA-ESSEX
- coverage will be posted soon!
6 NOVEMBER 2016 - STANDLAKE ARENA BONFIRE MEETING
- coverage will be posted soon!
29 OCTOBER 2016 - SCUNTHORPE SPEEDWAY AUTOGRASS MEETING
- coverage will be posted soon!
23 OCTOBER 2016 - COVENTRY STADIUM GRASS ATTACK
- coverage will be posted soon!
9 OCTOBER 2016 - CAUSEWAY DASH FOR CASH
- coverage will be posted soon!
2 OCTOBER 2016 - MELTON AUTOGRASS
- coverage will be posted soon!
25 SEPTEMBER 2016 - INVICTA KENT AUTOGRASS
- coverage will be posted soon!
24 SEPTEMBER 2016 - ROLLING THUNDER SHOW AT ARENA-ESSEX
- coverage will be posted soon!
17/18 SEPTEMBER 2016 - STURTON & STOW UK AUTOGRASS FINALS
- coverage will be posted soon!
10/11 SEPTEMBER 2016 - EAST ANGLIAN OPEN AUTOGRASS
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
3/4 SEPTEMBER 2016 - LADIES' & JUNIORS' NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIPS
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
27/28 AUGUST 2016 - ALL IRELAND AUTOGRASS FINALS - WEST WATERFORD
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
21 AUGUST 2016 - WATERFORD RACEWAY (THE PIKE)
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
14 AUGUST 2016 - PENNINE AUTOGRASS KEITH KENT MEMORIAL
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
13 AUGUST 2016 - SEGTO CHAMPIONSHIP AT RTS ARENA-ESSEX
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
6/7 AUGUST 2016 - NATIONAL AUTOGRASS CHAMPIONSHIPS
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
30/31 JULY 2016 - REVS HOT ROD CLUB AT BALLYMITTY, CO WEXFORD
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
23/24 JULY 2016 - ALL IRELAND AUTOGRASS ROUND 2 - CORK
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
16/17 JULY 2016 - ST NEOTS AUTOGRASS BOB ROBINS MEMORIAL
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
10 JULY 2016 - OVAL RACE CLUB AT ANGMERING - SCOTT WEST MEMORIAL
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
2/3 JULY 2016 - STOCK HATCH AUTOGRASS NATIONALS - SCARBOROUGH
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
26 JUNE 2016 - STANDLAKE ARENA
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
25 JUNE 2016 - ROLLING THUNDER SHOW AT ARENA-ESSEX
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
18/19 JUNE 2016 - MALLOW AUTOGRASS DAMIEN FORDE MEMORIAL
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
12 JUNE 2016 - ST NEOTS AUTOGRASS
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
4/5 JUNE 2016 - ALL IRELAND AUTOGRASS ROUND 1 - DOWN
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
30 MAY 2016 - STANDLAKE ARENA BANK HOLIDAY MEETING
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
29 MAY 2016 - OVAL RACE CLUB AT ANGMERING
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
28 MAY 2016 - ROLLING THUNDER SHOW AT ARENA-ESSEX
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
21/22 MAY 2016 - CENTRAL SCOTLAND AUTOGRASS - SCOTTISH OPEN
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
15 MAY 2016 - SEGTO CHAMPIONSHIP AT TONGHAM MOTOR CLUB
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
8 MAY 2016 - ST NEOTS AUTOGRASS
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
2 MAY 2016 - YORK AUTOGRASS BANK HOLIDAY MEETING
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
1 MAY 2016 - TONGHAM MOTOR CLUB
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
24 APRIL 2016 - INVICTA KENT AUTOGRASS
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
23 APRIL 2016 - ROLLING THUNDER SHOW AT ARENA-ESSEX
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
17 APRIL 2016 - PEMBROKESHIRE AUTOGRASS
- coverage will be posted soon!
   
   
 
3 APRIL 2016 - TRENT AUTOGRASS
- coverage will be posted soon!
 


 
   




 
   
   
   
   
   
   
 
16-17 JANUARY 2016 - AUTOSPORT INTERNATIONAL
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
     
  COMING SOON -


 
  IT'S SHOW TIME - click on the picture for full details of the
Oval Racing Experience at Autosport International 2016

 
 
15 NOVEMBER 2015 - ROLLING THUNDER SHOW BRITISH CHAMPIONSHIPS
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
14 NOVEMBER 2015 - AUTOGRASS ON TARMAC AT NORTHAMPTON
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
1 NOVEMBER 2015 - AUTOGRASS WINTER SERIES AT NOTTINGHAM
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
24 OCTOBER 2015 - ROLLING THUNDER SHOW AT ARENA-ESSEX
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
18 OCTOBER 2015 - EAST ANGLIAN SEASON CLOSER AT ST NEOTS
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
17 OCTOBER 2015 - STARTRAX AT COVENTRY STADIUM
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
11 OCTOBER 2015 - EASTERN OPEN CHALLENGE AT SPALDING
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
10 OCTOBER 2015 - ROLLING THUNDER SHOW AT ARENA-ESSEX
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
4 OCTOBER 2015 - EASTERN OPEN CHALLENGE AT ST NEOTS
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
26/27 SEPTEMBER 2015 - CAUSEWAY AUTOGRASS DASH FOR CASH
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
19/20 SEPTEMBER - SUPER AUTOGRASS WEEKEND AT WEST WATERFORD
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
13 SEPTEMBER 2015 - EAST ANGLIAN OPEN AUTOGRASS CHAMPIONSHIPS
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
12 SEPTEMBER 2015 - ROLLING THUNDER SHOW AT ARENA-ESSEX
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
5/6 SEPTEMBER 2015 - LADIES' & JUNIORS' AUTOGRASS NATIONALS
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
29/30 AUGUST - ALL IRELAND AUTOGRASS FINALS AT WEST WATERFORD
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
23 AUGUST 2015 - IRISH AUTOGRASS GRAND PRIX AT CARLOW
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
15/16 AUGUST 2015 - SCOTTISH OPEN AUTOGRASS CHAMPIONSHIPS
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
8 AUGUST 2015 - SEGTO CHAMPIONSHIP AT ARENA ESSEX
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
1/2 AUGUST 2015 - NATIONAL AUTOGRASS CHAMPIONSHIPS
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
26 JULY 2015 - A WET DAY AT CARBURY HOT ROD TRACK
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
25 JULY 2015 - CAMPHIRE INTERNATIONAL HORSE TRIALS
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
18/19 JULY 2015 - ALL IRELAND AUTOGRASS SERIES AT CORK
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
12 JULY 2015 - SEGTO CHAMPIONSHIP AT TONGHAM MOTOR CLUB
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
11 JULY 2015 - ROLLING THUNDER SHOW AT ARENA-ESSEX
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
4/5 JULY 2015 - ST NEOTS BOB ROBINS MEMORIAL MEETING
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
27/28 JUNE - MALLOW AUTOGRASS IN THE BALLYHOURA MOUNTAINS
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
20/21 JUNE 2015 - ROLLING THUNDER SHOW & SEGTO AT LYDDEN HILL
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
14 JUNE 2015 - ST NEOTS NATIONAL QUALIFIER
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
     
   
   
   
   
     
   
 
3/4 MAY 2015 - LEEWOOD TWO-DAY MEETING
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
2  MAY 2015 - UKAC ROUND 1 AT STURTON & STOW
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
25 APRIL 2015 - ROLLING THUNDER SHOW AT ARENA-ESSEX
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
19 APRIL 2015 - SCOTTISH AUTOGRASS SEASON OPENER
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
12 APRIL 2015 - EAST ANGLIAN LEAGUE OPENER AT CAMBRIDGE
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
11 APRIL 2015 - ROLLING THUNDER SHOW AT ARENA-ESSEX
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
6 APRIL 2015 - EASTER MONDAY AUTOGRASS AT HEREFORD
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
5 APRIL 2015 - SEGTO SEASON OPENER AT TONGHAM MOTOR CLUB
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
28 MARCH 2015 - ROLLING THUNDER SHOW AT ARENA-ESSEX
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
22 MARCH 2015 - SPALDING AUTOGRASS
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
15 MARCH 2015 - STANDLAKE ARENA
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
14 MARCH 2015 - ROLLING THUNDER SHOW AT ARENA-ESSEX
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
8 MARCH 2015 - AUTOGRASS SEASON OPENER AT NOTTINGHAM
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
1 MARCH 2015 - STANDLAKE ARENA
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
14 FEBRUARY 2015 - STANDLAKE ARENA 2015 OPENER
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
17/18 JANUARY 2015 - THE TENTH ANNUAL OVAL RACING EXPO
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
8-11 JANUARY 2015 - AUTOSPORT INTERNATIONAL AT THE NEC
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
 
4 JANUARY 2015 - McNAMARA MOTORSPORT MALLOW FUN SPRINT
- coverage will be posted soon!
 
2015 NEWS ARCHIVE

2014 NEWS ARCHIVE

2013 NEWS ARCHIVE

2012 NEWS ARCHIVE

2011 NEWS ARCHIVE

Where has the magazine gone?

Thanks to everyone who's enquired after the magazine since our last printed issue, no 190, came out in August 2012. Thanks also to our subscribers and advertisers for your patience. 

 

We haven't given up on it, but our current workload, both in Autograss and in the "real world" isn't allowing us time at present to make firm plans to re-launch the mag.

 

We hope eventually to clear the decks of enough other work to allow the Review to make a comeback. Obviously the magazine world has changed in the 25 years since we first launched the Review, so we'll welcome your views on what you want and expect from a grass roots racing (maybe not just Autograss!) magazine in future ....


2010 NEWS ARCHIVE

2009 NEWS ARCHIVE

2008 NEWS ARCHIVE

2007 NEWS ARCHIVE

2006 NEWS ARCHIVE
 

You are visitor number Web Site Hit Counter since we last remembered to reset this counter!